Client Login

Contact Us

Close Support

  • Email US
  • LiveZilla Live Chat Software

Xavier Musketeers men’s basketball

Register Domain


Xavier Musketeers men’s basketball

The Xavier Musketeers men’s basketball team Reflects Xavier University in Cincinnati, Ohio.

The faculty’s team currently competes in the Big East Conference. Of all Division I programs yet to make a last 4, Xavier gets the most all-time tournament wins with 27. Xavier has appeared in the NCAA Championship 27 times, 15 times in the previous 17 decades. On March 11, 2018, Xavier made its first ever No. 1 seed for the NCAA Tournament. Xavier won four Atlantic 10 Tournament Championships (1998, 2002, 2004 and 2006). Xavier has won or shared 17 regular season conference championships, while winning 9 conference tournament championships. In addition, they have won one Big East Conference regular season title in 2018. Xavier has been listed among the top-20 most precious college basketball programs in the US. The first Xavier Basketball match on record was February 20, 1920 in the Fenwick Club at Cincinnati. Coached by Joe Meyer, the Musketeers compiled a 94–52 record during Meyer’s’s 13-year run as head trainer in 1920 to 1933. The Musketeer’s success lasted under second head coach Clem Crowe. Throughout Crowe’s 10 years since Xavier head coach, Xavier compiled a record of 96–78. Crowe’s 96 wins as a head trainer rank fourth all time among Xavier head coaches. [5] After the 1942–43 season, play was suspended for the subsequent two seasons due to World War II. In 1945, the program declared under the direction of head coach Ed Burns. In his one season as head coach, Burns compiled a record of 3–16. In 1946, Burns was replaced by Lew Hirt. Underneath Hirt, the Musketeers first postseason appearance was in the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) during the 1948 NAIA National Basketball Tournament, the national tournament for small schools. Xavier finished in 4th place, dropping to Hamline University at the nationwide third-place game, 58–59. 1948 was the only year Xavier appeared at the NAIA Tournament. In 1951, Hirt has been replaced as head trainer by Ned Wulk. Wulk directed the Musketeers to National Invitational Tournament appearances in 1956 and 1957. The 1956 look marked Xavier’s initial NIT triumph, an 84–80 success over Saint Louis. Following a loss to Bradley from the 1957 NIT, Wulk was replaced as head coach by Jim McCafferty. McCafferty headed the Musketeers back to a third straight NIT at 1958. With wins over Niagara, Bradley, St. Bonaventure and Dayton, Xavier captured the NIT. That was the first postseason championship obtained by any Ohio Division I college. Back in 1961, McCafferty led Xavier to their original appearance in the NCAA Men’s Division I Basketball Tournament. On March 14, 1961, Xavier dropped to Morehead State in the Kentucky State Fairgrounds in Louisville, Kentucky. McCafferty was replaced as head coach in 1963. He would be followed by Don Ruberg (1963–67), George Krajack (1967–71), Dick Campbell (1971–73) and Tay Baker (1973–79). Back in 1979, Xavier was one of those charter members of this Midwestern City Conference (nicknamed the MCC or Midwestern City , also now known as the Horizon League), which also comprised Butler, Evansville, Loyola (Chicago), Oklahoma City, and Oral Roberts. That season also marked the hiring of head coach Bob Staak, that gathered an 88–86 list during his six seasons as head coach, including a return to both the NCAA Tournament and NIT. Read more: